Explanation and Schedule Change

I’m very sorry about the extreme absence. My one instance of sickness created a domino effect where I had to play catch up to make my monthly budget but I didn’t wait long enough to recover so I ended up burning out again. Then, in trying to do enough work so I could save up enough money to clear out enough time in my schedule to devote at least two full weeks to translating kept getting delayed because extra expenses kept popping up. I am currently still trying to make that last hundred to meet my financial goals.

I am deeply sorry about how long this absence has been.

In order to try to prevent this from happening and to give me some more flexibility, instead of setting future chapter releases for Great Tang Idyll to be on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, I will choose to release 3 chapters within a Monday through Friday work week. This means that I could release all 3 chapters in one day, release 1 chapter on the old Mon/Wed/Fri schedule, or release 2 chapters one day and the 3rd chapter the next. I will also try to see about setting a progress meter to help readers see when the next chapter will come out so you guys aren’t left hanging.

Finally, I will be making up the long queue of chapters that I missed while I was away. I am aiming to fulfill my weekly quota of 3 chapters by the end of this week.

Thanks again for your understanding and patience. I’m really grateful that I didn’t get yelled at as much as I was afraid I would because the pressure I was giving myself on this situation was really stressful and actually counterproductive.

12 thoughts on “Explanation and Schedule Change

  1. Thanks for the update! Real life happens. Not a big deal. I wouldn’t worry trying to clear the backfill. I say just do your best without affecting your health or your work.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. YOU! How could you do this to us! You give us drugs then you leave! Do you know where I’ve been the last couple of months?! IN A GREAT TANG IDYLL WITHDRAWAL REHAB CENTER! They have free cookies! Anyways… I need my drugs man!

    Okay crappy joke aside glad you’re back. You really should take better care of yourself. Sometimes the money just isn’t worth it. Ie you work over time you get sick you can’t work anymore you end up worse than you were before. Alright that last sentence was a train wreck, but I don’t care. I’m not going to fix it.

    Well I’m glad you’re back. Take better care of yourself and good luck with real life. Cause it’s a bitch sometimes a lot of the time. You know what? Never mind. Life’s a bitch almost all the time. =/

    I really wish I could take all the lemons life gives me and burn life’s house down with em. I just don’t know where life lives at. =(

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I was in a situation where I couldn’t not work even if it was causing me to burn out and fatigue. I definitely don’t want to go through that again so I’ll try my best to avoid getting myself in a situation like that.

      Thanks for the long comment and I’m glad to be back too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. don’t worry
    we are already happy if you are fine
    don’t burn up and take your time with translation
    it’s already good that you are willing to translate something you don’t need to pressure yourself

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.